Event Detail

Solar Week LIVE Webinar: What's behind the best picture of the Sun ever?
Start Date/Time:
Thursday, March 26, 2020 11:00 AM
End Date/Time:
Thursday, March 26, 2020 12:00 PM
Recurring Event:
One time event
Importance:
Normal Priority
Description:

Great news -- Spring's live webinar will take place on March 26th at 2pm Eastern  (1 pm Central / 12 noon Mountain / 11 AM Pacific)

Our live presenter will be: Dr. Claire Raftery of the National Solar Observatory:  

Caramel Corn or the Sun: What is behind the best picture of the Sun we’ve ever taken!

The NSF’s Inouye Solar Telescope recently took the best image of the Sun’s surface that has ever been taken. This telescope is an engineering marvel, focusing enough energy to boil a pot of water in three seconds onto a spot the size of a quarter in order to bring us the most detailed pictures of our local star. We’ll look at how the telescope works, and some of its science goals, as well as dissecting just what the new images are showing us.

Join via Zoom or Watch YouTube Live Stream

Owned by Karin Hauck On Monday, March 23, 2020
Multiverse skin is based on Greytness by Adammer